The following are courses i teach. go to my training schedule page to see the current training being offered.
nra basic Personal Protection in the home
Teaches the basic knowledge, skills, and attitude essential to the safe and efficient use of a handgun for protection of self and family, and to provide information on the law-abiding individual’s right to self-defense.
Prerequisite: This course is for law-abiding adult citizens, as defined by applicable federal, state, or local law, and experienced shooters (shooters able to show mastery of the basic skills of safe gun handling, shooting a group, zeroing the firearm, and cleaning the firearm). Prospective participants can demonstrate that they have the requisite knowledge, skills, and attitudes by producing an NRA Basic Pistol Course Certificate, NRA FIRST Steps Course Certificate, NRA pistol competitive shooting qualification card, military DD 214 with pistol qualification, or passing the Pre-Course Assessment.
Description: This is an eight-hour course. Students should expect to shoot approximately 100 rounds of ammunition. Students will learn basic defensive shooting skills, strategies for home safety and responding to a violent confrontation, firearms and the law, how to choose a handgun for self-defense, and continued opportunities for skill development. Students will receive the NRA Guide to the Basics of Personal Protection In The Home handbook, NRA Gun Safety Rules brochure, the Winchester/NRA Marksmanship Qualification booklet, and course completion certificate.
Note: Lesson III of this course: Firearms and the Law, and Legal Aspects of Self-Defense, is conducted by an attorney licensed to practice law within the state in which this course is given and who is familiar with this area of the law, or a Law Enforcement Officer (LEO) who possesses an intermediate or higher Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) certificate granted within the state, or an individual currently certified to instruct in this area of the law by the state in which this course is presented. NRA Certified Instructors may conduct this lesson only if they meet the requirements stated above and then only in their capacity as an attorney, or other state certified individual not in their capacity as an NRA Certified Instructor.
License to carry
This course is the state required prerequisite for applying for a new Texas License To Carry (LTC) – formerly Concealed Handgun License (CHL). The course includes classroom coverage of the LTC laws, non-violent dispute resolution, gun safety, the required shooting test and all of the required paperwork. This is a 4-hour training course as required by state law. However, this does not include time on the range.
Texas LTC Training Course Fee Includes:
- 4-hour classroom instruction
- Range qualification (this is usually accomplished in less than one hour depending on the range).
- range fee
- Indoor Climate-Controlled Range
- B-27 Target
- Certificate of Completion (Form CHL-100)
Tuition Does Not Include:
- Fingerprints; Follow the instructions at the end of the application process for the fingerprint process. the cost is $10.
- Ammunition (50 Rounds Minimum)
- State of Texas ltc Application Fee (currently $140 but will drop to $40 on sept. 1, 2017)
- if you need to borrow a Handgun i have two 9mm and one 380 automatic available. borrowed guns require you use my ammunition. there will be an additional fee of $15 for 9mm and $20 for 380 ammunition for borrowed guns.
Information about the class
Following is a summary to give you an idea of what to expect on the day of class.
Please arrive promptly at the time shown. The classroom portion is typically held in the remax advantage office at 5729 Lebanon Road, Ste. 154 Frisco, TX, 75034.
Please keep all firearms UNLOADED and put away in some type of case. We will not be touching these until we are safely in the shooting range area.
The State of Texas mandates this class to last 4 hours. This is a very relaxed environment and the instructor promises to take plenty of short breaks throughout the day. Most likely we will spend approximately two hours in the class room followed by the shooting qualification. A short lunch break then the remaining two hours of classroom. this breaks up the class and seems to be preferred by my students.
You will need at least 50 rounds of ammunition and a firearm of at least .32 caliber or greater. As of September 1, 2017 the minimum caliber requirement will be removed. After September 1 you may qualify with a 22 caliber pistol. We recommend you bring 100 rounds just to be on the safe side. If you don’t have your own pistol you may borrow one of mine. However, keep in mind you will need to purchase the ammo from me to shoot in my guns.
i will provide eye (safety glasses) and ear (foam pads) protection.if you have your own ear muffs you may brings them. Prescription glasses may be worn in place of safety glasses.
As for the qualification itself, if you have any worries about being able to shoot well enough to pass, put them aside. You will do just fine and have a great time doing it! i’ve had students in the past who had very limited exposure to firearms and they still easily met the state’s standards. go to the shooting tips page to view a video detailing the qualification test. Once the class is over, your instructor will present you with your CHL-100 Certificate of Completion. This is the form that shows you have taken the class, passed the shooting qualification and the written test. you will need to upload this document with the various other paperwork.
One thing you can do to get the ball rolling a little quicker is to start the online application process now with the Department of Public Safety. Please follow the instructions listed and they will step you through the process. You don’t have to do this before the class, so it’s completely up to you. If you do choose this option, just click on the following link and follow the step-by-step instructions.
i hope i have answered some of the questions you may have had. Please don’t hesitate to email me if you have more. firstname.lastname@example.org
Please remember to bring your driver’s license
Hand Gun 101
This course is 3 hours in length and includes classroom instruction and shooting time at the range. the cost is $125. It focuses on the basics of handgun shooting techniques and covers:
- The elements of firearms safety
- Gun range protocol
- Handgun and ammunition components
- Loading and unloading a firearm
- Proper stance and grip
- Correct sight picture and trigger control
- Firing from a standing position
- Basic practice drills you can use later
The instructor demonstrates correct technique and then works with each student one-on-one on the proper and efficient way to safely load and shoot a handgun. The course is a live-fire course with the students doing most of the firing. i will limit this course to five students max.
One-on-one coaching is a central element to this course.
Whether you are new to shooting or "have been shooting awhile", this course will certainly increase your level of confidence and your handgun skills.